Five Things {Friday}

So it’s Saturday, but I reeally wanted to post this Five Things Friday anyway.  Here are five books that changed my life.  From adventuring to another time, celebrating your inner nerd, pre-facebook one sentence stories, sex and the word sorcerer that is Annie Proulx, these five books are the bees knees.

‘Hypnotizing’ is the best word I can think of to describe the way Annie Proulx  weaves a series of words together to form a sentence so rich and beautiful that one, two or even three reads of it finds you uncovering layer upon layer of a world you previously didn’t know yet somehow now pumps through your veins.  Yes, I’m a fan.

My favourite book of hers is actually a collection of short stories called ‘Bad Dirt’, which seems to have disappeared off my bookshelf, sad face.  Do you have it?!

The best thing about the movie?  The green dress.  The best thing about the book?  Everything.  I read it once a year.

This book has been in my family for at least twenty years.  Rediscovering it the other day took  me right back to being an awkward, blushy tween.  I remember paging through it thinking ‘this book is so brave!’  Sorry future kids, I’ll try make sure you don’t have friends over when I whip it out for you to blushingly page through.

Long before status updates or tweeting, Ernst Hemingway wrote the six worded story, “For sale: baby shoes, never worn”.  This little gem of a book is filled with six-worded memoirs.  On first reading of these mini stories I fell in love with the idea of an entire story in a little pocket of a paragraph.  It taught me a whole new way of writing.  Read some of mine here, if you like.

Most people would like to meet presidents or rock stars or Gary Player, I would do almost anything to share a latte with Tina Fey.  And then she wrote a book and my heart was never quite the same.  Buy this book, read this book,  laugh at and with Ms Fey and feel better about every embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you.

2 Comments

Filed under Five Things Friday

2 responses to “Five Things {Friday}

  1. Movan

    WHAT a great post! Thanks! I wanted to rush out and buy all of those books….or better still, borrow them from you!
    And, no, 😦 , I don’t have your ‘Bad Dirt’ book. Hope you find it.

  2. Thanks Movan, it remains MIA, but hopefully has gone to a good home!

Leave a Reply

