A Tale of Two Shopping Centres…

I wore this dress on Monday.  To work and to do a few errands around town.  I was walking through Cresta Shopping Centre (for my and everyone else’s sins) and a group of rugby shorts wearing Afrikaans student boys walked past me and said, ‘What is she wearing? Who does she think she is? Ha ha ha ha’.  Now I’m a Janse van Vuuren (admittedly a very English one) but I know  Afrikaans meanies when I see them.  Sadly friends, I had no retort, no clever, snappy Cougar-esque remark.  I just turned scarlet and ducked into Truworths even though that wasn’t where I was headed.

Cut to Melrose Arch (Cresta wishes it was Melrose Arch), walking kind of sheepishly and keeping a watchful eye for rugby shorts and 2002 mullets, when a man walks up to me.  A youngish, sweet looking guy, Noah Wyle’s little brother perhaps.  “Excuse me”, he says, as I go the colour of a tourist who fell asleep in the sun. “That’s a really great dress.  You look really nice.”

There is a moment where I am about to shout, ‘Ah ha’, and launch into my Cresta/mullet/meanie story but instead I go more scarlet, thank him and keep on walking exactly where I was headed.

This is kind of an outfit post.  Here comes the scarlet again.  Ameezing.

5 Comments

Filed under Discover Ameezing Things, Explore Ameezing Joburg, Frock Pics - Inside Ameezing's Wardrobe

5 responses to “A Tale of Two Shopping Centres…

  1. amy

    ‘Take it from whence it comes’! Never has a saying been more appropriate. These mullet-sporting, teesav-wearing fashion ignoramus’ (ignorami?!) poppies are no doubt still wearing crop tops & mini skirts, and sporting a disastrous dye-job. its a fabulous dress!

  2. Movan

    Noah Wylie’s little brother is right! That’s called looking wonderful in a great dress. And, I love the material too! 🙂

  3. CousinRobyn

    Some looooooosers, and a winner. What a day.

  4. I think it is an ameeezing dress, just love the pattern, would love to see a close of it.

  5. Pingback: The Year was 1984… | ameezing

Leave a Reply

