Of black dresses and broomsticks

Last Sunday, wearing a black dress, I went to the hardware store to buy a broom.  On the way to the car, carrying my new broom, I was approached by a guy trying to sell funny jelly candles out of a black plastic packet.  Before he could even open his mouth I lifted my hand and said, “No thank you”.

As I walked on he called after me, “No problem, Miss.  Hope it flies well”.  It was the sharpest, most unexpected comeback I’d ever heard.  I chuckled and cackled all the way home.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Of black dresses and broomsticks

Leave a Reply

