We can skate if we want to

Last night, pretending I didn’t have a 3:30am call time, I put on two pairs of socks and a warm jacket and headed out to the ice rink.  My parents met at the Durban Ice Rink and my brothers and I grew up having ice skating birthday parties so every now and again we like to take a skate down memory lane.

Unfortunately I arrived in Joburg after the heyday of the Carlton Tower ice rink,  friends have told me about their birthdays there in the eighties.  So now we head to Northgate, mostly on Tuesdays because its Cheap Skate night, that means half the price, double the skinny jeaned teenagers spraying ice in each others faces and triple the fun.

Dreads on Ice

Vintage Gloves on Ice

Leave a comment

Filed under Explore Ameezing Joburg

Leave a Reply

