Mmmm, don’t mind if I do…

Sometimes, living in a city like Joburg feels like you are being eaten alive and burped up for seconds.  In this kind of environment, unexpected random acts of kindness have the ability to take your breath away.  When you need it most to sigh with relief that good, kind people are alive and kicking and keeping busy with, well, random acts of kindness.

When I spotted this ‘Help Yourself’ pavement garden I got such a suprise I almost drove into the Golf-driving granny in front of me.  I had read about these gardens, but always imagined them to be in places like Finland and the Architectural Digest, not in the neighbourhood next to mine, in gritty ol’ Joburg. Sweet peas, spinach, tomatoes and an assortment of other green goodness, all ready for the picking.  I wonder if this garden has a regular clientele?  Do you have one in your neighbourhood?

My heart swelled with Pay-it-Fowardness.  I drove on, my faith in humanity and this gritty ol’ city many of us call home renewed.

5 Comments

Filed under Explore Ameezing Joburg

5 responses to “Mmmm, don’t mind if I do…

  1. kez

    Wow! That’s so awesome.. Where was it?

  2. Sgt. Pepper

    That is really really cool.

  3. this is so wonderful!i think we should all start one in our streets.where is this?xxx

  4. Karin

    so inspiring ! …and I am a huge fan of ” pay it forward”
    don’t think this spirit has found it’s way to kzn yet … perhaps I should begin on my verge ?

  5. Number 68, 8th Avenue, Parktown North.

    Karin, great idea!

Leave a Reply

